dreamybean

Do you pick your pennies ?

Posted on: November 7, 2016

I love Americans, however, there is one weird thing about them that I do not understand. A couple of weeks ago, when we were about to exit Costco, there was this guy in his early twenties who was fidgeting with his wallet. He dropped a couple of pennies and some dimes in the process. They did make that clinking tinkling sound when did they hit the floor, so I am sure he noticed that he had dropped some coins.

lincoln-pennies1

What struck me odd was the fact that he did not stop to pick them up. He just continued walking as if nothing happened. My 8 year old daughter instantly picked the coins and ran to this guy and said, “I think you dropped these”, and the guy just smirked at her and said, “No, its okay”!

She was disappointed with his reaction and not knowing what to do, turned towards me. I looked around and spotted a Donation box and pointed it to my daughter who happily put them into it.

This is not the first time something like this has happened.

There was a similar incident that we noticed outside JCPenny, and I don’t know why, but I find it strange when people refuse to pick up coins that they drop. Do they find it embarrassing to pick their own money ? Do they not work as hard as we do to earn it?

I have lost count of the number of instances where I have seen coins lying on the ground.

Its strange to me, because if I was them, and if I dropped my coins, I would pick them up each time without being embarrassed or ashamed. Yeah, you heard me right !

Leave a Reply

